Winx Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, August 24, 2019
Track Randwick Racecourse
Distance 1400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-Age
Prizemoney $500,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Winx Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the Winx Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Winx Stakes (formerly the Warwick Stakes) takes place at Royal Randwick Racecourse annually in August during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

Held over 1400m and open to three-year-olds and over, the weight-for-age contest offers $250,000 in prizemoney and will carry Group 1 status from 2018 onwards.

Other races to be run on the same day include: Group 2 Silver Shadow Stakes (1200m), Group 3 Up And Coming Stakes (1300m), Group 3 Toy Show Quality (1300m) and Group 3 Show County Quality (1200m).

The Warwick Stakes was renamed in 2017 to honour champion mare Winx who won the race in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

First run in 1923, the Warwick Stakes was run as a Principal race over 7 furlongs and was won by Sunburst.

It was elevated to a Group 2 event in 1979 and has been run over a range of distances from 1300m to a mile.

The illustrious honour roll lists some of the country’s best horses with Winx, Pinwheel (2011-12), Lonhro (2001 & 2003) and Filante (1996-97) being recent dual winners.

Other former winners of the Warwick Stakes include: Private Steer (2004), Defier (2002), Sunline (1999), Shaftesbury Avenue (1992), Super Impose (1990-91), Kingston Town (1980-82), Sky High (1961-62), Tulloch (1957), Bernborough (1946,) Flight (1944), Chatham (1933-34), Amounis (1930) and Limerick (1927-29).

Kingston Town and Limerick remain the only three time winners of the Warwick Stakes.

Winx Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Al Mansour
2001 Lonhro
2002 Defier
2003 Lonhro
2004 Private Steer
2005 Sir Dex
2006 Court’s In Session
2007 Race Not Held
2008 Racing To Win
2009 Trusting
2010 Metal Bender
2011 Pinwheel
2012 Pinwheel
2013 Veyron
2014 Tiger Tees
2015 Royal Descent
2016 Winx
2017 Winx
2018 Winx
2019 Samadoubt


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.