The 2016 AFL Brownlow Medal count is set to be held on Monday September 26 and this season, Geelong Cats' star midfielder Patrick Dangerfield is a raging $1.25 favourite to take home football's highest individual accolade. 

The former Adelaide player looks to be a shoe in to claim the award for the competition’s best and fairest player, as voted on by the games umpires. 

For those that think the short odds are a bit skinny, we have looked at the various markets on offer and picked out the best four value bets for the AFL's night of nights.


Patrick Dangerfield is a red-hot favourite to win the 2016 Brownlow Medal - so much so that leading bookmaker Sportsbet have already paid out on him winning. Dangerfield is the $1.18 favourite heading into Brownlow Medal night and has bets of $20,000, $15,000, $11,000 and a couple of $10,000 bets riding on him. Richmond Tiger Martin is the second favourite way back at $15 ahead of Sydney Swans' Parker at $18. Bookmakers are also taking bets on the winning player for each team in their Team Betting markets.


Bookmakers offer a host of special offers and promotions on the Brownlow Medal. Ladbrokes offer enhanced odds on various markets, CrownBet offer you the chance to win up to $100,000 in the free-to-enter Crownlow competition and Sportsbet have an unmissable multibet refund on Team Betting winners if you fail by one result. If you're looking for free bets to use on the Brownlow, take a look at the current top five bookmaker offers.


The Brownlow Medal is also knows as the Charlie Brownlow Trophy and is awarded to the best and fairest player in each AFL season. The award is voted for by umpires after each game of the season, with the votes totalled up on Brownlow Medal night five days before the AFL Grand Final.

The Brownlow Medal is the most prestigious award available to players of the game and has an illustrious honour roll since first being awarded in 1924.

Umpires give points to players in each game of the season on a 3-2-1 basis and the player at the end of Brownlow Medal night with the greatest number of votes is awarded the medal.

Any player who is suspended during the regular season is deemed ineligible for the Brownlow Medal and cannot win the award regardless of the number of votes they collect throughout the season.

Brownlow Medal Winners Since 2000

2000Shane WoewodinMelbourne Demons24
2001Jason AkermanisBrisbane Lions23
2002Simon BlackBrisbane Lions25
2003Mark RicciutoAdelaide Crows22
Nathan BuckleyCollingwood22
Adam GoodesSydney Swans22
2004Chris JuddWest Coast Eagles30
2005Ben CousinsWest Coast Eagles20
2006Adam GoodesSydney Swans26
2007Jimmy BartelGeelong Cats29
2008Adam CooneyWestern Bulldogs24
2009Gary Ablett JrGeelong Cats30
2010Chris JuddCarlton30
2011Dane SwanCollingwood34
2012Jobe Watson*Essendon Bombers30
2013Gary Ablett JrGold Coast Suns28
2014Matt PriddisWest Coast Eagles26
2015Nat FyfeFremantle Dockers31


Various Brownlow Medal betting options are available, not just the opportunity to bet on who will win the award. Here is a rundown of what Brownlow Medal bets you can place:

Winner: Throughout the year bookmakers will offer odds on the Brownlow Medal winner. You can back several players as the season develops and the odds fluctuate or keep topping up your winnings on a frontrunner.

Exacta/Trifecta: Predict who will finish in the first two in the vote count (exacta) or the first three (trifecta).

Top 3 and Top 5: Bookmakers offer odds on whether a player will finish in the top three in the vote count, or the top five in the vote count. The odds will be shorter than the price for the same player to be crowned the winner, but you're backing them to be placed.

Top Team Votes: Predict who will top the votes for each of the 18 clubs during the medal count. Bookmakers will often offer you the chance to combine your selections into a multibet for added value.

Head-to-Heads: Choose between two players and back who will get the most votes.

Best Brownlow Moments

Relive the best Brownlow Moments in history...

What made the shortlist?

Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages