Stradbroke Handicap 2018

DateSaturday, June 9, 2018
TrackDoomben Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race Type Handicap
Prizemoney$1.5 million
Age2YO and Upwards

Stradbroke Handicap Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Stradbroke Handicap betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Stradbroke Handicap pointers are:

  • Roughies have an excellent record, favourites struggle
  • Six-year-olds have the best record
  • Last start winners can be avoided

Where to bet on the Stradbroke Handicap

Bookmakers Ladbrokes and CrownBet offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit betting on horse racing, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Stradbroke Handicap History and Guide

The Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap is the richest race staged during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival and attracts some of the best sprinters in the game every June.

It is one of the most competitive sprints staged each year and certainly the toughest to predict during the Brisbane Carnival, which takes place between May and June each year at the Doomben and Eagle Farm Racecourses.

It is an open handicap and features a guaranteed full field of runners who will surge towards victory and attempt to join some familiar names on the roll of honour - the likes of dual winner Rough Habit (1991 and 1992), All Our Mob (1994), Dane Ripper (1997), course record holder Toledo (1998), Show A Heart (2002), Sniper's Bullet (2007) and Mr Baritone (2008). 

The Stradbroke Handicap, named after Lord Stradbroke who was a relative of Admiral Rous - the man who helped shape the weight for age scale in horse racing, was first held in 1890 when won by Pyrrhus. It was staged over 1200m until 1953 when Suncup won the first race run over the current trip.

The race was upgraded to Group 1 status in 1980 when Ducatoon won the race but was later disqualified due to a positive test. Victory instead went to Bemboka Yacht. The prize money was increased to $1 million in 1996, the year in which Danasinga was victorious and it now stands at $1.5 million.

Only one two-year-old has ever triumphed in the race, that being Wiggle in 1958, and four-year-olds have by far the best record. Rough Habit and Campaign King (1988) are the only two horses to carry he top weight of 58.5kg to victory in the race during 100+ years of history.

The leading contenders for the Stradbroke Handicap will tend to arrive via the Group 1 Doomben 10,000, held earlier during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival at Doomben Racecourse. Others will have contested the Group 1 Kingsford-Smith Cup or the Group 2 QTC Cup.

Stradbroke Day is the biggest, best and richest race meet held in Queensland with the Stradbroke Handicap being joined by the Group 1 Queensland Derby, which features the best three-year-old colts, and the Group 1 JJ Atkins, formerly known as the TJ Smith, for two-year-olds. The Group 2 Brisbane Cup and Group 3 Dane Ripper Quality Handicap also form part of a classy day's racing. 

Stradbroke Handicap Winners (Since 2000)

2002Show A Heart
2003Private Steer
2004Thorn Park
2005St Basil
2006La Montagna
2007Sniper's Bullet
2008Mr Baritone
2009Black Piranha
2010Black Piranha
2012Mid Summer Music
2014River Lad
2016Under The Louvre

DOOMBEN Track description

Races are run in a clockwise direction, while the track is a turf track and is banked at varying degrees around the course proper. 

Front runners have a distinct advantage at Doomben, especially when the track is rain-affected.


Doomben Racecourse is located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and is the smaller of Brisbane’s two metropolitan tracks. 

It is situated in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane CBD.

The racecourse’s construction was completed in 1933 and was subsequently shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War. 

The course reopened in 1946 when the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time. The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country.

Doomben received a major upgrade in 1982, and is now home to world class facilities. 


*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

Upcoming Group 1 Races

You have unread messages

You have unread messages