Darley Classic 2017

DateSaturday, 11 November
TrackFlemington Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight for Age
Prize Money$1 million
Age3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Darley Classic betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Darley Classic pointers are:

  • Manikato Stakes form has been a good guide in recent years
  • Barriers 4-7 the place to be
  • Favourites don't have the best overall record


Australia's leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Darley Classic (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Darley Classic streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Darley Classic live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet and bet365 are the best places to bet on the Darley Classic and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the Darley Classic, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) takes place at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse annually in November during the Melbourne Spring Carnival and is a weight-for-age race for sprinters.

With $1 million in prizemoney, the race attracts the country’s best sprinters and forms part of the Global Sprint Challenge.

From 2008, the race has taken over from the Australia Stakes as an Australian leg of the Global Sprint Challenge Series. The race is the eight leg of the series, preceded by the Sprinters Stakes and followed by the Hong Kong International Sprint.

First run in 1868, the Darley Classic was won by Gulnare when it known as the Flying Stakes and run over 6 furlongs (approximately 1200m).

Known as the Linlithgow Stakes since 1908, and then the Emirates Classic from 1997, the race was renamed the Lexus Classic in 2004, the Age Classic in 2005 and the Patinack Farm Classic in 2008.

Most recently, the Robert Heathcote-trained Buffering won the VRC Sprint Classic after breaking through for his first win at the highest level when he won the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley.

The honour roll lists the who’s who of Australian racing and includes the likes of: Barbelle (1870-72), Amounis (1926-27 and 1929), Phar Lap (1930), Chatham (1931-33), Ajax (1937-38), High Castle (1939-41), Matrice (1956-57), Sky High (1962), Wenona Girl (1963), Vain (1969), Placid Ark (1987), Redelva (1988 & 1990), Sequalo (1994), Mahogany (1994), Belle Du Jour (2001), Choisir (2002), Fastnet Rock (2004), Miss Andretti (2007) and Black Caviar (2010-11).

Other feature races on the day include the Group 1 Emirates Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Matriarch Stakes (2000m), Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2600m) and the Group 3 Maribyrnong Plate (1000m).

Darley Classic Winners (Since 2000)

2000Easy Rocking
2003Ancient Song
2004Takeover Target
2005Glamour Puss
2006Dance Hero
2007Miss Andretti
2009All Silent
2010Black Caviar
2011Black Caviar


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as "The Straight Six" course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions - this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.


*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages