The Rugby Championship

Latest The Rugby Championship Stories/

The Rugby Championship is the annual international rugby union competition played between the four leading nations in the southern hemisphere - Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Argentina.

Formerly known as the Tri Nations having been staged since 1996, it was expanded to a four-team tournament in 2012 when Argentina were inaugurated and the quartet will also contest the 2013 Rugby Championship.

Each nation plays six games during the championship, which is staged between August and October, with fixtures scheduled home and away against the other three countries. The country with the most points or wins is crowned the champions.

New Zealand are the most successful team with 11 championships to their name, including in the first Rugby Championship in 2012, and Australia and South Africa have been crowned champions on three occasions.

Betting on the Rugby Championship is available on the individual games as well as the outright winners, top team tryscorers, top tournament tryscorer and often betting without the favourite. Most bookmakers will also run special offers and money back promotions throughout the competition on key matches.


*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

Upcoming Group 1 Races

You have unread messages

You have unread messages