Latest News and Tips


The AFL Brownlow Medal count is held in September each season at the start of Grand Final week as the best and fairest receive accolades. writers take a look at the various markets on offer and pick out the best value bets for the AFL’s night of nights.


Keep up to date with the latest Brownlow Medal betting odds throughout the season with a look at the markets after each round of the season.

Check out the latest 2023 Brownlow Medal odds.

Bookmakers will also taking bets on the winning player for each team in their Team Betting markets, making the Brownlow Medal a great event to be punting on.


The Brownlow Medal is also known as the Charlie Brownlow Trophy and is awarded to the best and fairest player in each AFL season. The award is voted for by umpires after each game of the season, with the votes totalled up on Brownlow Medal night five days before the AFL Grand Final.

The Brownlow Medal is the most prestigious award available to players of the game and has an illustrious honour roll since first being awarded in 1924.

Umpires give points to players in each game of the season on a 3-2-1 basis and the player at the end of Brownlow Medal night with the greatest number of votes is awarded the medal.

Any player who is suspended during the regular season is deemed ineligible for the Brownlow Medal and cannot win the award regardless of the number of votes they collect throughout the season.


Various Brownlow Medal betting options are available, not just the opportunity to bet on who will win the award. Here is a rundown of what Brownlow Medal bets you can place:

Winner: Throughout the year bookmakers will offer odds on the Brownlow Medal winner. You can back several players as the season develops and the odds fluctuate or keep topping up your winnings on a frontrunner.

Exacta/Trifecta: Predict who will finish in the first two in the vote count (exacta) or the first three (trifecta).

Top 3 and Top 5: Bookmakers offer odds on whether a player will finish in the top three in the vote count, or the top five in the vote count. The odds will be shorter than the price for the same player to be crowned the winner, but you’re backing them to be placed.

Top Team Votes: Predict who will top the votes for each of the 18 clubs during the medal count. Bookmakers will often offer you the chance to combine your selections into a multibet for added value.

Head-to-Heads: Choose between two players and back who will get the most votes.


Note: The following table includes Brownlow Medal winners since the AFL was formed in 1990.

Year Player Team Votes
1990 Tony Liberatore Footscray 18
1991 Jim Stynes Melbourne 25
1992 Scott Wynd Footscray 20
1993 Gavin Wanganeen Essendon 18
1994 Greg Williams Carlton 30
1995 Paul Kelly Sydney 21
1996 James Hird
Michael Voss
Brisbane Bears
1997 Robert Harvey St Kilda 26
1998 Robert Harvey St Kilda 32
1999 Shane Crawford Hawthorn 28
2000 Shane Woewodin Melbourne 24
2001 Jason Akermanis Brisbane Lions 23
2002 Simon Black Brisbane Lions 25
2003 Mark Ricciuto
Nathan Buckley
Adam Goodes
2004 Chris Judd West Coast 30
2005 Ben Cousins West Coast 20
2006 Adam Goodes Sydney 26
2007 Jimmy Bartel Geelong 29
2008 Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs 24
2009 Gary Ablett Jr Geelong 30
2010 Chris Judd Carlton 30
2011 Dane Swann Collingwood 34
2012 Sam Mitchell
Trent Cotchin
2013 Gary Ablett Jr Gold Coast 28
2014 Matt Priddis West Coast 28
2015 Nat Fyfe Fremantle 31
2016 Patrick Dangerfield Geelong 35
2017 Dustin Martin Richmond 36
2018 Tom Mitchell Hawthorn 28
2019 Nat Fyfe Fremantle 33
2020 Lachie Neale Brisbane 31
2021 Ollie Wines Port Adelaide 36
2022 Patrick Cripps Carlton 29