Latest News and Tips


The AFL Rising Star award is presented annually to the player adjudged the best young player during the AFL season. Each round, a player is nominated for the Rising Star. They must be aged 20 or under on January 1 that year and have played in 10 or fewer AFL games prior to the start of the season.

We provide weekly coverage of the Rising Star market.


Keep up to date with the latest odds for the Rising Star award as we update the betting market each week.

Check out the latest and best 2023 AFL Rising Star odds.


Every round of the AFL season will see a young star nominated for the Rising Star award. A player can only be nominated once during the year.

In order to be eligible, a player must be 20 years old or younger on January 1 of that year and must have only played 10 games or fewer prior to the start of the season.

Any player suspended during the year can not win the Rising Star award, much like the Brownlow Medal.

At the completion of the season, the voting panel independently awards five votes, four votes, three votes, two votes and one vote to the nominated players they believe are best through to fifth best for that season. Whichever player polls the most is the winner.



Player Year Club Votes
Nathan Buckley 1993 Brisbane Bears Unknown
Chris Scott 1994 Brisbane Bears Unknown
Nick Holland 1995 Hawthorn Unknown
Ben Cousins 1996 West Coast Unknown
Michael Wilson 1997 Port Adelaide 27
Byron Pickett 1998 North Melbourne 30
Adam Goodes 1999 Sydney 33
Paul Hasleby 2000 Fremantle 33
Justin Koschitzke 2001 St Kilda 31
Nick Riewoldt 2002 St Kilda 34
Sam Mitchell 2003 Hawthorn 33
Jared Rivers 2004 Melbourne 45
Brett Deledio 2005 Richmond 43
Danyle Pearce 2006 Port Adelaide 43
Joel Selwood 2007 Geelong 44
Rhys Palmer 2008 Fremantle 44
Daniel Rich 2009 Brisbane Lions 45
Dan Hannebury 2010 Sydney 45
Dyson Heppell 2011 Essendon 44
Daniel Talia 2012 Adelaide 43
Jaeger O’Meara 2013 Gold Coast 44
Lewis Taylor 2014 Brisbane Lions 39
Jesse Hogan 2015 Melbourne 49
Callum Mills 2016 Sydney 49
Andrew McGrath 2017 Essendon 51
Jaidyn Stephenson 2018 Collingwood 52
Sam Walsh 2019 Carlton 54
Caleb Serong 2020 Fremantle 48
Luke Jackson 2021 Melbourne 51
Nick Daicos 2022 Collingwood 60