Latest Ashes News and Tips

The Ashes 2021/22 Schedule & Dates

Ashes Test Dates Venue
1st Test 8-12th December The Gabba
2nd Test 16-20th December Adelaide Oval
3rd Test 26-30th December MCG
4th Test 5-9th December SCG
5th Test 14-18th December Optus Stadium

The Ashes 2021/22 Teams & Squads

Australia Squad

Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

England Squad

Joe Root, Jos Buttler, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

The Ashes Results

Year Winner Score
2019 Drawn 2-2
2017/18 Australia 4-0
2015 England 3-2
2013/14 Australia 5-0
2013 England 3-0
2010/11 England 3-1
2009 England 2-1
2006/07 Australia 5-0
2005 England 2-1
2002/03 Australia 4-1
2001 Australia 4-1
1998/99 Australia 3-1
1997 Australia 3-2
1994/95 Australia 3-1
1993 Australia 4-1
1990/91 Australia 3-0
1989 Australia 4-0
1986/87 England 2-1
1985 England 3-1
1982/83 Australia 2-1
1981 England 3-1
1978/79 England 5-1
1977 England 3-0
1975 Australia 1-0
1974/75 Australia 4-1
1972 Drawn 2-2
1970/71 England 2-0
1968 Drawn 1-1
1965/66 Drawn 1-1
1964 Australia 1-0
1962/63 Drawn 1-1
1961 Australia 2-1
1958/59 Australia 4-0
1956 England 2-1
1954/55 England 3-1
1953 England 1-0
1950/51 Australia 4-1
1948 Australia 4-0
1946/47 Australia 3-0
1938 Drawn 1-1
1936/37 Australia 3-2
1934 Australia 2-1
1932/33 England 4-1
1930 Australia 2-1
1928/29 England 4-1
1926 England 1-0
1924/25 Australia 4-1
1921 Australia 3-0
1920/21 Australia 5-0
1912 England 1-0
1911/12 England 4-1
1909 Australia 2-1
1907/08 Australia 4-1
1905 England 2-0
1903/04 England 3-2
1902 Australia 2-1
1901/02 Australia 4-1
1899 Australia 1-0
1897/98 Australia 4-1
1896 England 2-1
1894/95 England 3-2
1893 England 1-0
1891/92 Australia 2-1
1890 England 2-0
1888 England 2-1
1887/88 England 1-0
1886/87 England 2-0
1886 England 3-0
1884/85 England 3-2
1884 England 1-0
1882/83 England 2-1

The Ashes History

The Ashes is one of the oldest rivalries in sporting history. Australia and England battle it out for an urn every two years, alternating the host nation each series.

It all began in 1882, when Australia defeated England at The Oval. It was crowned as the death of English cricket by mainstream media, and an obituary was made stating “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”. When England toured Australia in the Australian summer that same year, it was coined as ‘The Ashes’ tour after England captain Ivo Bligh promised to “regain the ashes”.

England went on to win that test series 1-2, and Bligh was presented with an urn by a group of women from Melbourne, with the ashes of the burnt bails from the last test match. Fast forward almost 140 years and all eyes are on the two nations once again as they battle it out for a replica of the urn, which is currently held by the Australians following a drawn series on tour in 2019.

Australia just have the edge in Ashes triumphs, with 33, whilst England have 32. There has also been six drawn series. Australia have held the urn for approximately 80 years, whilst England have held it for 55 years.

The Ashes Tickets

Ticketing information can be found on | Click here to purchase tickets

The Ashes Tips & Betting Advice


There are various markets available on which you can bet on cricket matches, series and tournaments – including The Ashes. Most of the bookmakers will offer opportunities to bet before the start of each of series including offering outright betting on the series itself. To search for all the markets available, visit the website of your favourite bookmaker and head to the CRICKET menu. Under cricket, you can hunt for the market of your choice.

Outright Winner Bets

All bookmakers will offer odds on the outright winner of the Ashes series. This will be available through the entire duration of the series, till obviously the series is decided.

Match Betting

All bookmakers will offer odds on match winners before the start of the games and some of them will also offer in-play betting during every Test. These odds will fluctuate up and down for each of the results – win, loss and draw – during the course of play.

Correct Series Score Betting

At the start of any series you will also be able to predict the exact scoreline for the series. So, for instance, a three-match series could have 1-0, 2-0 or 3-0 scoreline in favour of Australia or in favour of England or have 0-0 or 1-1 draws in the series.

Top Batsmen/Bowlers

Most bookmakers will offer markets for the top batsman and bowler for both teams for the first innings of the Test matches. And there will be odds for the top batsman and bowler for the series as well, for each side. At the end of the first innings – or at the end of the series – the batsman who has scored most number of runs or bowlers who have picked up most wickets will be the top batsman/bowler.


If you’re a cricket fan, then you know that betting on the sport can add an extra level of excitement to watching a match. But where should you go to place your bets? Check out our list of cricket betting sites for the top recommendations. We’ve done all the research so you can focus on picking the right team to win!

Bookmakers Sportsbet, bet365, TAB and Ladbrokes are among the best places to bet on cricket. They boast a huge number of markets on The Ashes as well as domestic cricket, like the Big Bash League, Sheffield Shield, One-Day Cup and all international matches.