Mackinnon Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Mackinnon Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, 9 November, 2019
Track Flemington Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prize Money $2 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Mackinnon Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Mackinnon Stakes pointers are:

  • Barriers inside of eight seem to have a distinct advantage
  • Barriers 2 to 5 have dominated in the last three decades
  • Gai Waterhouse is the most successful current trainer


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Mackinnon Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Mackinnon Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Mackinnon Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Mackinnon Stakes and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes takes place on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington Racecourse in November each year.

The weight-for-age race, which dates back to 1869 when it was first held, was known as the Melbourne Stakes until 1936 before being renamed in honour of LKS Mackinnon, the former chairman of the Victoria Racing Club.

It is staged over 2000m but is no longer be used as a lead up to the Melbourne Cup three days later after being to the Saturday following the race that stops a nation.

Sixteen horses had done the Mackinnon Stakes and Melbourne Cup double in their careers with the most recent being Rogan Josh in 1999. At Talaq (1986), Empire Rose (1988) and Let’s Elope (1991) are some of the more recent horses to have preceded him in winning both races.

The names of Carbine (1890), the brilliant dual winner Phar Lap (1930 and 1931), Peter Pan (1934), Ajax (1938), Leilani (1974), Dulcify (1979), Lonhro (2002) and So You Think (2010) are other notable ones on the roll of honour.

Other impressive winners of the race were Horlicks, the New Zealand galloper who captured the prize in 1989 and went on to take out the Japan Cup, and Better Loosen up who repeated the feat a year later in 1990.

Prior to it being moved, the Mackinnon Stakes was no longer the best guide to the Melbourne Cup with most trainers opting for a bigger gap between runs in recent years than the three-day back-up. Viewed in 2008 was the most recent horse to take the Melbourne Cup having ran in the Mackinnon Stakes, in which he was unplaced.

Runners in the Emirates Stakes often arrive having run in the Group 1 Cox Plate at Moonee Valley during the Melbourne Spring Carnival, while others may have contested the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes at Flemington or the Group 1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield.

The race now takes place on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington.

Mackinnon Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Oliver Twist
2001 La Bella Dama
2002 Lonhro
2003 Casual Pass
2004 Grand Armee
2005 Lad Of The Manor
2006 Desert War
2007 Sirmione
2008 Theseo
2009 Scenic Shot
2010 So You Think
2011 Glass Harmonium
2012 Alcopop
2013 Side Glance
2014 Happy Trails
2015 Gailo Chop
2016 Awesome Rock
2017 Tosen Stardom
2018 Trap For Fools
2019 Magic Wand


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as “The Straight Six” course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions – this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.