Geelong Cup Tips & Betting Advice


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Geelong Cup (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Geelong races including the Geelong Cup streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Geelong Cup live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Geelong Cup and all Geelong races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmakers below.


The Geelong Cup is a Group 3 race for smart staying horses and is a part of the Melbourne Spring Carnival every year.

The race, which is an open handicap staged over 2400m, traditionally takes place on the last Wednesday in October – a public holiday in the city of Geelong (about 72km outside Melbourne) and just days before the

Melbourne Cup

at Flemington. It is open to all ages and carries a total prize fund of $300,000.


Geelong Cup

, one of the strongest country cups held outside of metropolitan city, has a rich history having been first run in 1872.

It is typically a strong guide towards the Melbourne Cup with three recent Geelong Cup winners having gone on to score in the big one at Flemington. The trio were all European-trained horses in Media Puzzle (2002), Americain (2010) and Dunaden (2011). Other European horses to win the Geelong Cup include Gatewood (2012) and Qewy (2016).

The Geelong Cup is usually the last chance for Melbourne Cup contenders to fine tune their preparations for the big race. The Melbourne Cup betting markets can often be affected by the outcome of the Geelong Cup, meaning if you Flemington fancy is expected to run a big race it is worth taking the odds early before they potentially tumble.

Geelong Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Savrocca
2001 Karasi
2002 Media Puzzle
2003 Zazzman
2004 Pacific Dancer
2005 On A Jeune
2006 Mandela
2007 The Fuzz
2008 Bauer
2009 Leica Ding
2010 Americain
2011 Dunaden
2012 Gatewood
2013 Ibicenco
2014 Caravan Rolls On
2015 Almoonqith
2016 Qewy
2017 Venguer Masque
2018 Runaway