How Do BBL Finals Work?

Marcus Bazzano:

Wondering how the BBL finals are structured? We explain the Big Bash League’s finals format in detail.

BBL Finals Series and How it Works

Below is everything you need to know about how the BBL finals series is played out.

How Many Games of Finals in BBL?

The BBL finals consists of the top five teams on the ladder at the end of the regular season.

The finals series starts on the 27th of January with ‘The Eliminator’ and ‘The Final’ will be played on the 4th of February. Teams who finish in the top two will play in ‘The Qualifier’ for an automatic spot in ‘The Final’.

There are five matches played in the BBL finals series.

  • The Eliminator (27th January)
  • The Qualifier (28th January)
  • The Knockout (29th January)
  • The Challenger (2nd February)
  • The Final (4th February)

BBL Finals Structure – Who Plays Who?

The Eliminator (27th January)
Brisbane Heat vs Sydney Thunder
The Qualifier (28th January)
Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers
The Knockout (29th January)
Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane Heat
The Challenger (2nd February)
Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane Heat
The Final (4th February)
Perth Scorchers vs Challenger Winner

BBL Finals Fixture Explained

The Eliminator: The first game of the BBL finals series is played between the teams who finish 4th & 5th on the ladder at the end of the regular season. The winner will progress to ‘The Knockout’, whilst the loser is eliminated.

The Qualifier: This match is the second match to be played and is between the top two teams on the ladder at the end of the season. The winner progresses directly to ‘The Final’ with the loser having to go through ‘The Challenger’ if they want to make it to the big dance.

The Knockout: The team that finishes third on the table will play in what is called ‘The Knockout’ against the winner of ‘The Eliminator’. The winner will feature in ‘The Challenger’, whilst the losers season will come to an end.

The Challenger: The team who loses in ‘The Qualifier’ will battle it out against the winner of ‘The Knockout’ for a spot in ‘The Final’.

The Final: The two most successful teams battle it out to be crowned the champions of the BBL season. (The winner of ‘The Qualifier’ vs ‘The Challenger’ winner).

Below is the BBL 12 finals bracket, which also shows the length and procedure of the BBL finals system.

Example of BBL12 Finals Fixture

BBL Finals Structure

How Many Teams Make the BBL Finals?

The teams who finish in the top five at the conclusion of the regular season will feature in the BBL finals. Perth Scorchers are the most successful team in Big Bash history with five titles, whilst the Sixers are not far behind with four. Those two teams at the time of writing have finished in the top two this season and will butt heads in ‘The Qualifier’ on Saturday night.

Where will the BBL Final Be Played?

Unlike many other sports, the BBL final isn’t designated to one specific stadium like it is in the AFL. The BBL Final is played at the teams home stadium who finished higher on the ladder. This wasn’t the case last season for the Perth Scorchers, who played at Marvel Stadium, but this was down to Western Australia COVID-19 protocols.

The BBL Final will be played at Optus Stadium this season in favour of the Scorchers. This is already guaranteed due to the Western Australian outfit defeating the Sixers in ‘The Qualifier’ last Saturday night.

Where to Get Expert Tips for the BBL Final?

Head to for the most comprehensive Big Bash Tips online. Not only do we offer a best bet for every match in the season but our cricket expert tipster also provides a Big Bash Same Game Multi for every match as well.

Whenever a new betting site arrives in Australia, we review them quickly, and if they’re worth your time, you’ll see them listed on our website. Our goal is to provide you with all relevant information on the best bookies online in Australia, and you can then simply pick your favourite based on the information we present. 

Whatever your needs are, we’ve got a betting site that can meet them. We rate and review sites in terms of their offers for bettors as well as give an overview on what they offer from odds to payment methods – if it’s available at all!

Each betting site offers a different range of betting options, so it’s important to choose one that best suits your needs. For example, if you’re mainly interested in horse racing betting, then you’ll want to choose a betting site that offers a good selection of markets in this area.

On the other hand, if you’re looking for a betting site that offers live betting options, then you’ll need to choose a site that has this feature.

With so many betting sites now operating in Australia, it can be difficult to know which ones are the best. However, by reading our reviews, you can get all the information you need to make an informed decision about which cricket betting site is right for you.