Makybe Diva Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Makybe Diva Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, September 14, 2019
Track Flemington Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prizemoney $750,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Makybe Diva Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Makybe Diva Stakes pointers are:

  • Double figure odds runners have a great record
  • Horses drawn 6 and lower perform best
  • Five-year-old horses have the best record


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Makybe Diva Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Makybe Diva Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Makybe Diva Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Sportsbet, BetEasy, Neds and Ladbrokes are the best places to bet on the Makybe Diva Stakes and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

Makybe Diva Stakes History and Guide

A Group 1 weight-for-age event that is held over the mile at Flemington, stayers contest the Makybe Diva Stakes first up or second up into a preparation as they head towards races such as the Caulfield Cup, Cox Plate and Melbourne Cup.

The Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m) held at Caulfield two weeks earlier is the key lead-up race as a high-number of Makybe Diva Stakes runners enter the event on the back of the Memsie Stakes.

Some runners will bypass the Memsie and begin their campaign in the Makybe Diva Stakes, just as the 2015 winner did; Fawkner resumed from a spell to claim the event for trainer Robert Hickmott and jockey Damien Oliver.

Worth $400,000 in prizemoney, the Makybe Diva Stakes attracts some of the country’s best stayers who are either racing first or second up along with a number of milers who will head towards a race like the Emirates Stakes.

The Makybe Diva Stakes was known as the Craiglee Stakes between 1948 and 2006 before being named after three-time Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva from 2007 onwards.

It was first won by Lungi during its inaugural running and was a Principal Race from 1948 to 1978.

The race then received Group 2 status when claimed by Dulcify in 1979 and was eventually upgraded to Group 1 status in 2013 when taken out by Foreteller.

A number of outstanding types have claimed the Makybe Diva Stakes and notable winners include Comic Court (1949), Sailor’s Guide (1956-57), Lord (1961), Light Fingers (1965), Tobin Bronze (1966), Rain Lover (1969), Ming Dynasty (1977), Dulcify (1979), Rose Of Kingston (1982), Zabeel (1990), Mannerism (1993), Mahogany (1994), Jeune (1995), Sky Heights (1999), Northerly (2002), Weekend Hussler (2008), Shocking (2010), Southern Speed (2012), Dissident (2014), Fawkner (2015), Palentino (2016) and Humidor (2017).

Following the Makybe Diva Stakes many of the runners will press on to tackle the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) at Caulfield two weeks later or the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) at Flemington three weeks later.

Those runners then battle it out in either the Caulfield Cup (2400m) or Cox Plate (2040m).

Makybe Diva Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Go Flash Go
2001 Native Jazz
2002 Northerly
2003 Pentastic
2004 Hug’s Dancer
2005 Confectioner
2006 Pompeii Ruler
2007 Marasco
2008 Weekend Hussler
2009 Vigor
2010 Shocking
2011 Littorio
2012 Southern Speed
2013 Foreteller
2014 Dissident
2015 Fawkner
2016 Palentino
2017 Humidor
2018 Grunt
2019 Gatting


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as “The Straight Six” course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions – this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.