Memsie Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Memsie Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, 31 August, 2019
Track Caulfield Racecourse
Distance 1400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prizemoney $1 million
Age 3YO and Upwards

Memsie Stakes Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Memsie Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Memsie Stakes pointers are:

  • Favourites dominate the race
  • Horses that draw inside barriers of 5 and lower have tended to do well
  • Focus on four and five-year-old horses
  • Mares have a terrific record in the race

Memsie Stakes Live Stream

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Memsie Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Caulfield races including the Memsie Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Memsie Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.

Where To Bet on the Memsie Stakes

Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasySportsbet and bet365 are the best places to bet on the Memsie Stakes and all Caulfield races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmakers below.

Memsie Stakes History and Guide

The Memsie Stakes is a Group 1 race staged at Caulfield Racecourse in late August each year at the start of the Melbourne Spring Carnival.

The race was first held in 1899, but was previously a Group 2 and was not elevated to Group 1 status by the Australian Pattern Committee until the 2013-14 racing season.

The move made the Memsie Stakes the first Group 1 event of the new racing season in Australia.

The 1400m race is worth $400,000 and is subject to weight conditions and is eligible for horses aged three years and over – although it is rare to see three-year-olds compete due to the race being scheduled so early in spring.

Positioned on the season calendar as a lead into the Spring Carnival, the Memsie Stakes attracts a varied field of runners. Some trainers seek to use it as a first up run from a spell, although this has not discouraged entries in the past of less-renowned sprinter-milers that have been trained specifically for the faster paced 1400m race.

Past Memsie Stakes winners include many noteworthy and highly acclaimed horses which have gone on to win various other Group 1s and a handful even going on to win the Memsie Stakes a second (and sometimes third) time.

Among the list of winners are Heroic (1925 and 1926), Phar Lap (1931), Ajax (1938, 1939 and 1940), Comic Court (1949 and 1950), Rising Fast (1954), Dane Ripper (1998), Sunline (2000 and 2001), Makybe Diva (2005) So You Think (2010) and Atlantic Jewel (2013), who was the first to win the race after it was elevated to Group 1 status.

Sunline is the most recent multiple winner of the Memsie Stakes and those wins led to strong performances in the Cox Plate, which she took out in 2000.

Victory in the 2014 Memsie Stakes kicked off a memorable campaign for Dissident, who went on to win a total of four Group 1 races throughout the season, and subsequently listed a contender for Australian racehorse of the year.

As the first Group 1 of the season, the Memsie Stakes has shown to be an important preliminary for several Spring Racing Carnival events such as the Manikato Stakes with Dane Ripper and Sunline excelling in both events. Sunline also went on to complete the triple by taking out the Cox Plate in 2000.

Other winners of the Memsie Stakes/Cox Plate double include Heroic, Phar Lap, Ajax, Rising Fast and most recently Makybe Diva, who was victorious in three consecutive Melbourne Cups (2003-2005) before returning to win the Memsie Stakes in 2006.

So You Think (2010) kicked off an outstanding spring when winning the Memsie Stakes as he went on to win the Group 1 Underwood Stakes and Caulfield Stakes prior to winning his second Cox Plate.

Memsie Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Sunline
2001 Sunline
2002 Magical Miss
2003 Le Zagaletta
2004 Regal Roller
2005 Makybe Diva
2006 El Segundo
2007 Miss Finland
2008 Weekend Hussler
2009 Mic Mac
2010 So You Think
2011 King’s Rose
2012 Sincero
2013 Atlantic Jewel
2014 Dissident
2015 Boban
2016 Black Heart Bart
2017 Vega Magic
2018 Humidor
2019 Scales Of Justice

Caulfield Racecourse Track Description

A fair course that provides most runners an even chance when the rail is True position. When the rail is out shifted our 6 metres or more it favours on pace runners and leaders.

The track’s unique triangular shaped layout comprises of three straights and all turns have a 4% to 6% banking which places less strain on horse’s joints.


The first Caulfield Cup was run in the autumn of 1879, and was transferred to the spring in 1881. The track was closed during the war and was used as an army camp, with the Caulfield Cup being run at Flemington.

Renovations to the track and grandstand have made it one of the premier racecourses in Australia with top class facilities for the horses, club members and the public.

The racecourse is located approximately eight kilometres from the Melbourne CBD, on the boundary of Caulfield and Caulfield East in Melbourne’s south eastern suburbs.