Clive Churchill Medal Tips, Odds & Predictions

Andrew Hendrie:
Clive Churchill Medal Tips

Penrith and Melbourne face off for the NRL premiership in Sunday night’s Grand Final and we’ve made our selections for the Clive Churchill Medal winner for best on ground.

Clive Churchill Medal free tips and predictions – who will be named man of the match and awarded the prestigious Clive Churchill Medal?

Clive Churchill Medal Tips ?

One of the greatest individual honours a player can receive, the Clive Churchill Medal – named after one of the greatest rugby league players in Australian history – has been awarded to the best player in the NRL Grand Final since 1986.

An illustrious list of players have won the Clive Churchill Medal, including Peter Sterling, Cliff Lyons, Ricky Stuart, Bradley Clyde, Gordon Tallis, Allan Langer, Darren Lockyer, Andrew Johns, Greg Inglis, Johnathan Thurston, Billy Slater, Cooper Cronk and Sam Burgess.

Clyde (Canberra) and Slater (Melbourne) are the only players to have been awarded the medal on two occasions.

The legendary Cameron Smith has never won the Clive Churchill Medal despite his various Grand Final appearances during his decorated career – and the superstar hooker would love nothing more than guiding his side to victory and claiming the medal in the process in what is looking like his last game.

However, I’m backing the Panthers to continue their incredible winning streak, that currently stands at 17 matches – and if that happens, you know Nathan Cleary is going to orchestrate it.

Cleary should have been awarded the Dally M Medal earlier in the week – he’s been the best player in the NRL all season and steered his young Panthers side into a first Grand Final since 2003.

The 22-year-old has done it all this season, scoring seven tries, registering 17 try assists, kicking 84 goals, slotting four field goals and engaging the line 151 times – the most of any player in the competition.

Cleary is ready to lead his side to the premiership and is priced at $4.50 with online bookmaker Sportsbet.

Additionally, if you’re looking for more value and a roughie selection, Cleary’s halves partner Jarome Luai looks a great bet at $21 with Sportsbet.

Luai has been explosive throughout the season and has the ability to carve up the Storm if they give him space to work his magic. Luai ranks second in the NRL for both try assists (22) and line break assists (19), so if he can repeat those numbers and put his teammates over, he will certainly be in contention for the Clive Churchill Medal.

You can find the current Clive Churchill Medal odds below.

(Market courtesy of Sportsbet)

  • Cameron Smith – $4.50
  • Nathan Cleary – $4.50
  • Cameron Munster – $10
  • Ryan Papenhuyzen – $10
  • Jahrome Hughes – $15
  • Api Koroisau – $17
  • James Fisher-Harris – $21
  • Jarome Luai – $21
  • Viliame Kikau – $21
  • Issah Yeo – $23
  • Jesse Bromwich – $26
  • All others – $34 or more

Clive Churchill Medal Predictions